Perched at an altitude of 1 meters, in the heart of the Aubrac regional natural park of which it is the seat, the village of Aubrac is one of the emblematic sites of the plateau. Located at the crossroads of the departments of Aveyron, Cantal and Lozère, it is a true witness to the economic, human and agricultural history of the territory. The village, now popular with pilgrims, is an essential passage of the GR65, Way of Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle of the Way of Puy-en-Velay. It has in the past been a refuge for people passing through and the sick. The village will seduce you for the tranquility of its environment, in the heart of scenery breathtaking, in wilderness.

A stopover in the village of Aubrac

Visitors looking for authenticity and a change of scenery, take a timeless break by going to the small village of Aubrac located near Saint-Chély-d'Aubrac. Explore the remains of the old Dômerie and hospital, visit its church and taste the local gastronomy with a aligoth in a fugitive. To take advantage of the immensity of nature that surrounds you, lovers of hiking can borrow a portion of the GR65 in the footsteps of pilgrims of the Way of Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle. With this loop of approximately 19 km, soak up the atmosphere of this very special place, isolated in the heart of thevast pastures.

Even today, the least informed tourist cannot remain indifferent to the spectacle that has suddenly arisen, while the clouds and gusts of this fortress parade, planted alone, like a challenge to the expanse, among an apocalypse setting...

a little history…

The history of Aubrac, or " Viola Braco meaning "high place", dates back to the XNUMXth century and its history is inseparable from the pilgrimage to Saint-Jacques de Compostela.
"IN LOCO HORRORIS AND VASTAE SOLITUDINIS" : The legend tells that Adalard, a Flemish noble who was going to Santiago de Compostela, crossed the plateau and made a vow, if he got out of the dangers of Aubrac, to build in these " places of horrors and vast loneliness », a domiery to welcome pilgrims. In 1120, he founded a group of knights there to accompany and defend pilgrims against brigands. They erected the first buildings of the monastery-hospital to serve the poor.

Departmental archives of Aveyron
Aubrac Monastery


Subsequently, monks and nuns joined them around the Dom (title of the priors of the community who succeeded him). The breadth of hospitality made it possible to distribute up to 5 loaves of bread per day and simultaneously accommodate 000 people. The monks undertook the deforestation and the installation of the breeding on Aubrac. The significant development of the reception of pilgrims before the end of the XNUMXth century led to the construction of a large reception hospice (nave of the current church). The Dômerie d'Aubrac prospered until the end of the Middle Ages. The Revolution will sound the end of its power and the monastery will be partly destroyed. Today a few vestiges remain :

  • the Church of Our Lady of the Poor (XNUMXth century)
  • The Tower of the English (XIVth century)
  • The Hospital (XNUMXth century)

From the end of the 1th century, a tourism of fresh air and whey cures developed in Aubrac. Thus, the first vacationers on the Aubrac stayed in the big hotels of Laguiole and Aubrac, and went to the burons when the cheese was being made to drink a glass of whey. This one called “gaspe” in Occitan had purgative properties… ideal for slimming cures. The mountain climate of Aubrac and its altitude between 000 and 1 meters are also conducive to fresh air cures.

Tourism in Aubrac
The English Tower

The English Tower

Today an unusual stopover on the road to Conques, this XNUMXth century tower was built to defend itself from the English during the Hundred Years War.

the Church of Our Lady of the Poor

Built at the foundation of the monastery, in the XNUMXth century, its raw architecture marks the hostile character of the mountain and responds to the austere and functional principles of architecture of the Cistercian monks. It houses the "bell of the lost" where one can read "Jubilee for God, sing for the clerics, cast out demons, recall the lost". This bell served as a sound guide for walkers crossing the plateau in bad weather and thus helped them find their way to the village. This bell knew many ordeals, it was broken and melted several times and was stolen by the inhabitants of Saint-Chély-d'Aubrac, to finally return to Aubrac.

André Meravilles
The Domerie d'Aubrac

the house of Aubrac

Terrace House of Aubrac

Impossible to miss the House of Aubrac. Come and discover this atypical place, stroll through the cultural spaces dedicated to heritage and exhibitions. Enjoy a toast at the gourmet bar, discover the local products offered in the delicatessen area or relax and enjoy the panorama from the terrace. The House welcomes you from April to October to help you discover the Aubrac heritage and the region's must-sees. Just below, discover the more than 650 plant species present on the plateau during a visit to the Botanical Garden.

the royal Aubrac, a must

You can't miss it. With its somewhat icy appearance, near the village it overlooks, stands the Royal Aubrac. A former sanatorium inaugurated in 1902, its primary vocation was to care for the sick and tuberculous, hence its isolation. This place subsequently hosted summer camps at the end of the XNUMXth century before being abandoned for several decades. It is currently being renovated to become a place of accommodation and thus give new life to this place with such an unusual history and appearance.

Royal Aubrac

Events in Aubrac

Jean-Denis Auguy
Transhumance in Aubrac

In May, live the Transhumance Festival.
An ancestral tradition, it takes place every year in the spring and corresponds to the rise of the herds towards the mountain pastures, where the beautiful Aubrac cows will spend the season before descending again at the end of October. On this occasion, the village is transformed to welcome the curious who come to attend this unmissable event. Come and admire the herds adorned with their wreaths of flowers and decorations, stroll around the country market and enjoy the planned entertainment.

Was this content useful to you?

Save

Share this content

Témoin de l’histoire du plateau de l’Aubrac

Perché à 1 300 mètres d’altitude, au cœur du Parc naturel régional de l’Aubrac dont il est le siège, le village d’Aubrac est un des sites emblématiques du plateau. Situé au croisement des départements de l’Aveyron, du Cantal et de la Lozère, il est un véritable témoin de l’histoire économique, humaine et agricole du territoire. Le village, aujourd’hui prisé des pèlerins, est un passage incontournable du GR65, Chemin de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle de la Voie du Puy-en-Velay. Il a par le passé fait figure de refuge pour les gens de passage et les malades. Le village vous séduira pour la quiétude de son environnement, au cœur de paysages à couper le souffle, en pleine nature.

Une halte au village d’Aubrac

Visiteur en quête d’authenticité et de dépaysement, faites une pause hors du temps en vous rendant au petit village d’Aubrac situé à proximité de Saint-Chély-d’Aubrac. Arpentez les vestiges de l’ancienne Dômerie et hôpital, visitez son église et goûtez à la gastronomie locale avec un aligot dans un buron. Pour profiter de l’immensité de nature qui vous entoure, les amateurs de randonnée pourront emprunter une portion du GR65 sur les pas des pèlerins du Chemin de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle. Avec cet itinéraire de 18 km aller-retour, imprégnez-vous de l’atmosphère de ce lieu si particulier, isolé au cœur de l’immensité des pâturages.

Le touriste le moins averti ne saurait, encore aujourd’hui, demeurer indifférent au spectacle brutalement surgi, tandis que défilent les nuées et les bourrasques de cette forteresse, plantée seule, comme un défi à l’étendue, parmi un décor d’apocalypse…

un peu d’histoire…

L’histoire d’Aubrac, ou « Alto Braco », signifiant « lieu élevé », remonte au XIIème siècle et son histoire est indissociable du pèlerinage vers Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle.
« IN LOCO HORRORIS ET VASTAE SOLITUDINIS » : La Légende raconte qu’Adalard, noble flamand qui se rendait à Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle, traversa le plateau et fit vœu, s’il se sortait des dangers de l’Aubrac, de construire en ces « lieux d’horreurs et de vaste solitude », une domerie pour accueillir les pèlerins. En 1120, il y fonda un groupe de chevaliers pour accompagner et défendre les pèlerins contre les brigands. Ils firent édifier les premiers bâtiments du monastère-hôpital pour se mettre au service des pauvres.

Monastère d'Aubrac
Archives départementales de l’Aveyron


Par la suite, moines et religieuses les rejoignirent autour du Dom (titre des prieurs de la communauté qui lui ont succédé). L’ampleur de l’hospitalité permettait de distribuer jusqu’à 5 000 pains par jour et d’héberger simultanément 500 personnes. Les religieux entreprirent la déforestation et l’installation de l’élevage sur l’Aubrac. Le développement important de l’accueil des pèlerins avant la fin du XIIème siècle entraîna la construction d’un grand hospice d’accueil (nef de l’église actuelle). La Dômerie d’Aubrac prospéra jusqu’à la fin du Moyen-Age. La Révolution sonnera la fin de sa puissance et le monastère sera en partie détruit. Aujourd’hui, quelques vestiges subsistent :

  • l’Église Notre-Dame-des-Pauvres (XIIème siècle)
  • La Tour des Anglais (XIVème siècle)
  • L’Hôpital (XVème siècle)

Dès la fin du XIXème siècle, s’est développé à Aubrac un tourisme de cure de bon air et de petit-lait. Ainsi, les premiers vacanciers sur l’Aubrac séjournaient dans les grands hôtels de Laguiole et d’Aubrac, et se rendaient dans les burons au moment de la fabrication du fromage pour boire un verre de petit-lait. Celui-ci appelé « gaspe » en occitan avait des propriétés purgatives… idéal pour les cures d’amaigrissement ! Le climat montagnard d’Aubrac et son altitude entre 1 000 et 1 300 mètres sont également propices aux cures de bon air.

La tour des anglais
Tourisme en Aubrac

La Tour des Anglais

Aujourd’hui gîte d’étape insolite de la route vers Conques, cette tour du XIVème siècle fut construite pour se défendre des Anglais pendant la guerre de Cent ans.

l’Église Notre-Dame-des-pauvres

La Domerie d'Aubrac
André Méravilles

Construite à la fondation du monastère, au XIIème siècle, son architecture brute marque le caractère hostile de la montagne et répond aux principes d’architecture austères et fonctionnels des moines cisterciens. Elle abrite la « cloche des perdus » où l’on peut lire « Jubile pour Dieu, chante pour les clercs, chasse les démons, rappelle les égarés ». Cette cloche servait de guide sonore pour les marcheurs traversant le plateau par mauvais temps et permettait ainsi de les aider à s’orienter vers le village. Cette cloche connut bien des supplices, elle fut brisée et fondue à plusieurs reprises et a été l’objet d’un vol par les habitants de Saint-Chély-d’Aubrac, pour finalement retourner à Aubrac.

la maison de l’aubrac

Terasse Maison de l'Aubrac

Impossible de passer à côté de la Maison de l’Aubrac. Venez découvrir ce lieu atypique, flânez dans les espaces culturels dédiés au patrimoine et aux expositions. Dégustez une tartine au bar gourmand, découvrez les produits locaux proposés dans l’espace épicerie fine ou détendez-vous et profitez du panorama depuis la terrasse. La Maison vous accueille du mois d’avril à octobre pour vous faire découvrir le patrimoine de l’Aubrac et les immanquables de la région. Juste en contrebas, découvrez les plus de 650 espèces végétales présentes sur le plateau lors d’une visite au Jardin Botanique.

le royal Aubrac, passage obligé

Vous ne pouvez pas le rater ! Avec son allure quelque peu glaciale, à proximité du village qu’il surplombe, se dresse le Royal Aubrac. Ancien sanatorium inauguré en 1902, il avait pour première vocation de soigner les tuberculeux et malades, d’où son isolement. Ce lieu a par la suite accueilli des colonies de vacances à la fin du XXème siècle avant d’être laissé à l’abandon pendant plusieurs dizaines d’années. Il est aujourd’hui en cours de rénovation pour devenir un lieu d’hébergement et ainsi redonner vie à ce lieu à l’histoire et à l’apparence si insolites.

Royal Aubrac

les Événements À Aubrac

Transhumance en Aubrac
Jean-Denis Auguy

En mai, vivez la Fête de la Transhumance !
Tradition ancestrale, elle a lieu tous les ans au printemps et correspond à la montée des troupeaux vers les estives, où les belles vaches Aubrac passeront la saison avant de redescendre à la fin du mois d’octobre. À cette occasion, le village se métamorphose pour accueillir les curieux venus assister à cette manifestation incontournable. Venez admirer les troupeaux parés de leurs couronnes de fleurs et décorations, flâner au marché de pays et profiter des animations prévues.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu