In Aubrac, water is omnipresent. Waterfalls, lakes and rivers meander between pastures and granite rocks or in the shade of foliage and give our landscapes such a particular aesthetic. Whether for the beauty of the views, to practice sports or to fish, the lakes of the territory will make you experience unforgettable emotions.

Loading
Loading

Lost in the middle of the mountain

Aubrac monks lake
André Meravilles


Monk Lake

The Lac des Moines, nestled in the heart of the pastures, offers a splendid view on the village of Aubrac, culminating at 1 meters above sea level.
This place is conducive to calm and contemplative, perfect photo spot to capture the changing colors of Aubrac.

Did you know?

This artificial reservoir was built to control the flow of the Boralde de Saint-Chély. The capacity of the water body is 1 m260.
Please note that this lake is not a lake for swimming, but simply for contemplation. This is a place to preserve.

The road of the lakes

One of the most beautiful roads on the Aubrac plateau is the road to the lakes in Lozère. From Nasbinals to the Col de Bonnecombe, cross the immensity of desert pastures, dotted here and there with glacial lakes. You will certainly be amazed by these landscapes so typical of our region. These lakes are often surrounded by wetlands and on private property, so inaccessible on foot. Nevertheless, these are the most beautiful photo spots on the set! To discover them at best, go for a road-trip in the heart of Aubrac !

Vacha Lac Aubrac

Dam lakes

Laussac Aubrac peninsula
André Meravilles

Sarrans lake

35 kilometers long and 100 meters deep, Sarrans lake extends over approximately 1 hectares, making it the eighth largest artificial lake French. Located in the Truyère valley, it is one of 15 EDF hydroelectric production sites that make up the Lot-Truyère development chain (10% of EDF's hydroelectric power in France).

The lake is a real spot known to lovers of predator fishing. It promises you a great time with family or friends, whether on the lake or on the shore from the many pontoons.
For the less sporty, Sarrans lake is also a very nice spot for swimming. On the Laussac peninsula, lazing on the beaches and renting boats for a trip on the lake are perfect for spending a good time relaxing.

Saint-Gervais Lake

The lake of Saint-Gervais, with an area of ​​16 hectares, is very easy to access. In fashion promenade, you can go around it in an hour (about 3km) and enjoy the calm of the site, before going to the beach for a refreshing dip. In July and August, the bathing is monitored. To the water sports you can rent pedal boats, paddles, canoes, windsurfers.

Part of the lake 10 meters deep, classified as 2nd category is reserved for fishing. Many posts are set up all around Saint-Gervais. You can go there to tease the predators and hope to leave with a perch or a zander and sometimes even a pike.

Lake of Saint-Gervais Aubrac
Lake Selves Viadène
André Meravilles

The lake of the selves or lake of maury

In the commune of Montpeyroux, Lac de Maury is a large lake covering 167 hectares. At the confluence of the Selves and the Selvet, it is formed by a dam on the Selves. Its walls are sometimes very steep, due to its maximum depth of 45 meters.
Near the Tours campsite, Lac de la Selves offers many water activities: bathing (access to the lake by the campsites), water park very playful, rental of pedal boats, canoes, paddles.

A 2nd category lake, the Lac de Maury is renowned for its carp, perch and zander. Easily accessible from many points, it is boat, departing from one of the piers, that it will be most pleasant for you to browse it. Be careful though, temporary reserve areas are set up in the spring and all fishing is prohibited there, day and night.

Montézic dam and lake
EDF – Pierre Soissons

Lake Montézic

Its operation is based on the transfer of water between the Couesque and Montézic reservoirs causing high daily tidal ranges (more or less eight meters).
Covering an area of ​​250 hectares, it is fed by the Plane stream. It is a lake fishing 2nd category.

Couesques Lake

Fishing lake, Lac de Couesques is a very long gorge lake. Covering an area of ​​65 hectares, it can reach 50 meters deep. It is subject to very strong daily tidal ranges (more or less 5 meters).

André Meravilles

Challenge!

This fishing lake, particular by the absence of access to fish from the edge, will seduce you with its calm during boat fishing sessions (beware of the strong tidal range). Perch, zander and pike populate the bottom, which is sometimes very crowded.

Lac des Galens Aubrac
André Meravilles

Galens Lake

10 minutes from Laguiole, Lac des Galens can be discovered in all seasons. The shaded picnic areas all around the lake, as well as the 6 kilometer hiking trail, promise you a moment of perfect calm. From the banks, you can also indulge in fishing.

The summer, the bathing is supervised with small and large baths, water games for children and teenagers, pedal boat and canoe rentals.

Caution : hydroelectric dam with water level fluctuation.

Small lakes and bodies of water

Picades lake

At the Brameloup ski resort, Lac des Picades is a small paradise at 1046 meters above sea level, surrounded by a forest of beech and fir trees. Picnic tables await you for a day where everyone will find something to recharge their batteries: promenade, nap by the lake or fishing trout for all, children and adults, experienced and novices.

Lake Picades Aubrac
Cantoin lake
Cecile Remond

The Cantoin lake

Below the village of Cantoin, facing the burons, a charming body of water offers you a refreshing break. Tables of picnic will allow the older ones to rest in the shade of its large fir trees, while the little ones will enjoy theplayground.

Here you can to fish, from the second Saturday in March to the third Sunday in September, to try your luck with roach, carp and trout (regular releases by the AAPPMA of Argences en Aubrac/Cantoin).

Did you know?

Originally the burons of Cantoin were mountain shelters. They have been dismantled and rebuilt identically, in order to offer you charming and comfortable tourist accommodation.

The lakes of Sainte-Geneviève-sur-Argence

At the confluence of the two Argences, the Argence Vive and the Argence Morte, the two successive lakes of Sainte-Geneviève-sur-Argence welcome you for a day of relaxation. The “Duck Pond”, below the weir, is the ideal place for young apprentice trout fishermen.

Sainte-Genevieve lake
André Meravilles

At the Vignotte lake, everyone will find an activity that will satisfy them. For fishermen, the many accesses to the bank and the regular releases of trout will ensure you a pleasant fishing trip.

For those who want to move, the nautical base will allow you to cross the lake by canoe, kayak, pedal boat, paddle, bike on the water, but also to rent electric mountain bikes for half a day, or to practice disc golf, slackline and trampoline.

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

En Aubrac, l’eau est omniprésente. Cascades, lacs et rivières serpentent entre les pâtures et les rocs de granit ou bien à l’ombre des frondaisons et donnent à nos paysages une esthétique si particulière. Que ce soit pour la beauté des vues, pour pratiquer des activités sportives ou pour pêcher, les lacs du territoire vous feront vivre des émotions inoubliables.

Chargement en cours
Chargement en cours

Perdus au milieu de la montagne

Lac des moines Aubrac
André Méravilles


Le lac des Moines

Le lac des Moines, niché au cœur des pâturages, offre une splendide vue sur le village d’Aubrac, culminant à 1 310 mètres d’altitude.
Cet endroit est propice au calme et à la contemplation, parfait spot photo pour immortaliser les couleurs changeantes de l’Aubrac.

Le saviez-vous ?

Cette retenue artificielle a été aménagée afin de contrôler le débit de la Boralde de Saint-Chély. La capacité du plan d’eau est de 1 260 000 m3.
Attention ce lac n’est pas un lac pour la baignade, mais simplement pour la contemplation. Il s’agit d’un lieu à préserver.

La route des lacs

L’une des plus belles routes du plateau de l’Aubrac est la route des lacs en Lozère. A partir de Nasbinals et jusqu’au col de Bonnecombe, traversez l’immensité désertique des pâturages, jalonnés ça et là de lacs glaciaires. Vous serez à coup sûr émerveillé par ces paysages si typiques de notre région. Ces lacs sont souvent entourés de zones humides et sur des propriétés privées, donc inaccessibles à pieds. Il n’empêche que ce sont les plus beaux spots photo du plateau ! Pour les découvrir au mieux, partez pour un road-trip au cœur de l’Aubrac !

Vacha Lac Aubrac

Les lacs de barrages

Presqu'île de Laussac Aubrac
André Méravilles

Le lac de Sarrans

Long de 35 kilomètres et profond de 100 mètres, le lac de Sarrans s’étend sur environ 1 000 hectares, ce qui en fait le huitième plus grand lac artificiel français. Situé dans la vallée de la Truyère, il fait partie des 15 sites de production hydroélectrique EDF qui composent la chaîne d’aménagements Lot-Truyère (10 % de la puissance hydroélectrique d’EDF en France).

Le lac est un vrai spot connu des amateurs de pêche aux carnassiers. Il vous promet un beau moment en famille ou entre amis, que ce soit sur le lac ou sur la rive à partir des nombreux pontons aménagés.
Pour les moins sportifs, le lac de Sarrans est aussi un très beau coin pour la baignade. À la presqu’île de Laussac, farniente sur les plages et location d’embarcations pour une balade sur le lac sont parfaits pour passer un bon moment de détente.

Le lac de Saint-Gervais

Le lac de Saint-Gervais, d’une superficie de 16 hectares, est très facile d’accès. En mode promenade, vous pourrez en faire le tour en une petite heure (environ 3km) et profiter du calme du site, avant de vous rendre sur la plage pour un plongeon rafraîchissant. En juillet et août, la baignade est surveillée. À la base nautique vous pourrez louer pédalos, paddles, canoës, planches à voile.

Une partie du lac de 10 mètres de profondeur, classé de 2ème catégorie est réservée à la pêche. De nombreux postes sont aménagés tout autour de Saint-Gervais. Vous pourrez aller y taquiner les carnassiers et espérer repartir avec une perche ou un sandre et même parfois un brochet.

Lac de Saint Gervais Aubrac
Lac de la Selves Viadène
André Méravilles

Le lac de la selves ou lac de maury

Sur la commune de Montpeyroux, le Lac de Maury est un grand lac couvrant 167 hectares. Au confluent de la Selves et du Selvet, il est formé par un barrage sur la Selves. Ses parois sont parfois très abruptes, en raison de sa profondeur maximale de 45 mètres.
A proximité du camping des Tours, le lac de la Selves vous offre de nombreuses activités nautiques : baignade (accès au lac par les campings), parc aquatique très ludique, location de pédalos, canoës, paddles.

Lac de 2ème catégorie, le lac de Maury est réputé pour ses carpes, ses perches et ses sandres. Facilement accessible en de nombreux points, c’est en bateau, au départ de l’un des embarcadères, qu’il vous sera le plus agréable de le parcourir. Attention cependant, des zones de réserves temporaires sont mises en place au printemps et toute pêche y est interdite, de jour comme de nuit.

Barrage et lac de Montézic
EDF – Pierre Soissons

Le lac de Montézic

Son fonctionnement est basé sur le transfert d’eau entre les retenues de Couesque et de Montézic provoquant de forts marnages journaliers (plus ou moins huit mètres).
D’une superficie de 250 hectares, il est alimenté par le ruisseau de la Plane. C’est un lac de pêche de 2ème catégorie.

Le lac de couesques

Lac de pêche, le lac de Couesques est un lac de gorges très long. D’une superficie de 65 hectares, il peut atteindre les 50 mètres de profondeur. Il est soumis à de très forts marnages journaliers (plus ou moins 5 mètres).

André Méravilles

Challenge !

Ce lac de pêche, particulier par l’absence d’accès pour pêcher du bord, vous séduira par son calme lors de séances de pêche en bateau (attention au fort marnage). Perches, sandres et brochets en peuplent le fond, parfois très encombré.

Lac des Galens Aubrac
André Méravilles

le lac des Galens

À 10 minutes de Laguiole, le lac des Galens se découvre en toute saison. Les aires de pique-nique ombragées tout autour du lac, ainsi que le chemin de randonnée de 6 kilomètres, vous promettent un moment de calme parfait. Depuis les berges, vous pouvez également vous adonner à la pêche.

L’été, la baignade est surveillée avec petit et grand bains, jeux aquatiques pour les enfants et les ados, locations d’embarcations à pédales et de canoës.

Prudence : barrage hydroélectrique avec fluctuation du niveau d’eau.

Les petits lacs et plans d’eau

Le lac des picades

À la station de ski de Brameloup, le lac des Picades est un petit paradis à 1046 mètres d’altitude, entouré d’une forêt de hêtres et de sapins. Des tables de pique-nique vous attendent pour une journée où chacun trouvera à se ressourcer : promenade, sieste auprès du lac ou pêche à la truite pour tous, enfants et adultes, expérimentés et novices.

Lac des Picades Aubrac
Plan d'eau de Cantoin
Cécile Rémond

Le plan d’eau de Cantoin

En contrebas du village de Cantoin, face aux burons, un charmant plan d’eau vous offre une pause fraîcheur. Des tables de pique-nique permettront aux plus grands de se poser à l’ombre de ses grands sapins, tandis que les plus petits profiteront de l’aire de jeux.

Vous pourrez y pêcher, du second samedi de mars au troisième dimanche de septembre, pour tenter votre chance auprès des gardons, carpes et truites (lâchers réguliers par l’AAPPMA d’Argences en Aubrac/Cantoin).

Le saviez-vous ?

A l’origine les burons de Cantoin étaient des abris de montagnes. Ils ont été démontés et rebâtis à l’identique, afin de vous offrir de charmants et confortables logements touristiques.

Les Plans d’eau de Sainte-Geneviève-sur-Argence

À la confluence des deux Argences, l’Argence Vive et l’Argence Morte, les deux plans d’eau successifs de Sainte-Geneviève-sur-Argence vous accueillent pour une journée de détente. La “Mare aux canards”, en dessous du déversoir, est le lieu idéal pour les jeunes apprentis pêcheurs à la truite.

Plan d'eau Sainte-Genevieve
André Méravilles

Au plan d’eau de la Vignotte, chacun trouvera une activité qui le comblera. Pour les pêcheurs, les nombreux accès à la berge et les lâchers réguliers de truites vous assureront une agréable partie de pêche.

Pour ceux qui veulent bouger, la base nautique vous permettra de sillonner le lac en canoë, kayak, pédalo, paddle, vélo sur l’eau, mais aussi de louer des VTT électriques pour la demi-journée, ou de pratiquer disc-golf, slackline et trampoline.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu