There are more flowers on Aubrac than words to describe them. We can talk about its landscapes of summer pastures, its meadows, its exceptionally remarkable flora. There are emblematic species such as Yellow Gentian, Narcissus, Daffodil and Cistern. These few species are only a very small part of the great diversity floristics of the plateau. In the same meadow, around forty different plant species can cohabit. Thousand perfumes which make the cows of the Aubrac plateau happy and which are found in our cheeses.

Aubrac, a plateau of a thousand flowers

André Meravilles
Great yellow Aubrac gentian

Aubrac is characterized by its multiple landscapes : large meadows, forests, plateau and steep slopes. This richness is also found at the level of the flora, with varieties specific to each environment. The Aubrac massif, extending to the valleys and gorges, has around 2 plant species, including at least 000 above 1 meters in altitude.

Some lesser-known ecosystems are present in Aubrac and are home to many plants, each more spectacular than the next. The rarest are the guinea fowl fritillary, the red pulsatilla, or the leafy lousewort. It is by returning to the heart of the beech and oak groves that one can observe the famous Aubrac tea, the collection of which is regulated. The limestone soils of the southern slope of Aubrac offer another family of flowers, with numerous orchids.

each season has its own colors and scents

Each season paints a new picture thanks to this multitude of plants. Colors, scents, atmospheres vary every day.

When the days begin to lengthen, from February-March, the undergrowth is covered with the white or purple flowers of theOxalis sorrel and solid corydalis, among which may flower some False buttercup anemones. The top is tinged with purple thanks to the wild thoughts.
In spring, from the months of April-May, the meadows change color and turn yellow with the Daffodils. Then will come the Narcissus of the poets whose flowers are picked with great care for perfumery.

In the heart of summer, the great plants of the meadows and streams bloom: theAconite of Nappel and Meadowsweet are the best known. Note also the remarkable Siberian Ligulare. This perennial plant is found in bogs and swamps located at higher elevations. It dates from the Ice Age. This species is very rare in Aubrac and in France: picking it is prohibited. Also on hot summer days, other species develop discreetly in the bogs. They are extremely delicate and must be safeguarded, such as the round leaf sundew or Common Cranberry.

The narcissus harvest

Aubrac turns into white paradise in spring, with a marvelous carpet of white flowers: the Narcissus of the Poets. You may be able to spot farmers with a tool that looks like a wide fork to perform their harvest. Its smell is intoxicating, but the narcissus remains a very delicate flower. As soon as the harvest is over, these aromas leave for the Peyre-en-Aubrac distillery. The extract is used by most great perfumers.

Pierre Soissons

The narcissus of the poets

The harvest of this flower requires a particular know-how, all in delicacy.

Aubrac tea

Aubrac tea (or Large-flowered Calamentum) is a plant that grows in the light undergrowth of beech trees, at a minimum altitude of 1 meters. Thé d'Aubrac is a small, inconspicuous plant, whose fragrance is secreted as soon as the plant is brushed against. It is used in infusion. She has soothing properties and it also helps to facilitate digestion.

Harvesting should be done exclusively by hand. The leaves are removed from the stems, to be able to work the plant once dried. Local producers offer derivative products such as syrups, infusions, shortbread, soap, cosmetics or even ice cream.

Aubrac tea

The flora throughout northern Aveyron

To the west of the Aubrac plateau, the rest of the territory offers a completely different landscape composition. This difference is marked by big trees. There are oaks, beeches, lime trees. The slopes are populated by ferns, moors and heather. The landscapes are open, made up of Natural grasslands and plots. Hedges enclose these plots and the landscapes take shape like mosaics of forests interspersed with pastures.

Field of flowers

To learn more about the flora:

To find out more about the flora of the territory, do not hesitate to contact our professionals who offer outings and activities to find out everything about this rich natural heritage.

When to admire flowering?

To help you find your way among all these plants, their flowering dates, their particularities, here is a summary table. You will be able to organize your stay according to the colors you want to see bloom on the set.

flower typeFloweringParticularity and derivative
False Buttercup AnemoneApril to MaySolitary yellow flowers.
ArnicaMarch to JuneMedicinal virtues against hematomas.
CalmentJune to AugustThe dried leaves are used in digestive herbal tea.
BellflowerIn July and AugustSmall blue or purple bells opening into five lobes.
spring crocusesFebruary to MayWhite solitary flowers.
FoxgloveMay to JulyGlove-shaped flowers or bells, measuring 3 to 6 centimeters long, hang in a long cluster from one side of the stem.
DroseraFrom June to SeptemberCarnivorous plant found in high altitude bogs.
Guinea fowl fritillaryMay to early JuneBig purple bells.
Scotch BroomIn springUsed to craft brooms.
yellow gentianMay to OctoberThe roots are taken for the manufacture of alcohol. Spring roots are more bitter than autumn roots, which are sweeter.
Gentian pneumonanthusJune to OctoberBright blue medicinal plant.
Daffodil (Narcissus)February to MaySingle, double, trumpet, crown, star… Some yellow narcissus are commonly called “daffodils”.
Siberian LigulareJuly to SeptemberFlowers in yellow clusters, large plant.
Narcissus of the poetsArrives immediately after the daffodils, around mid-May to early JuneFlowers used for the production of aromas and perfumes for perfumers around the world.
orchidsIn spring Flowering varies from year to year depending on the light.
Oxalis sheep sorrelFrom spring to early summerSmall solitary white flowers.
Red PasqueflowerMay to JulyFlower toxic by ingestion for animals and humans.
RapunzelMay to JulyBlue flower with a globose head.
MeadowsweetIn spring and summerVanilla smell.

Was this content useful to you?

Save

Share this content

Il y a plus de fleurs sur l’Aubrac que de mots pour les décrire ! Nous pouvons parler de ses paysages d’estives, de ses prairies, de sa flore exceptionnellement remarquable. On y trouve des espèces emblématiques comme la Gentiane Jaune, le Narcisse, la Jonquille et la Cistre. Ces quelques espèces ne sont qu’une toute petite partie de la grande diversité floristique du plateau. Dans une même prairie, une quarantaine d’espèces végétales différentes peuvent cohabiter. Mille parfums qui font le bonheur des vaches du plateau de l’Aubrac et qui se retrouvent dans nos fromages !

L’Aubrac, un plateau aux mille fleurs

Grande gentiane jaune Aubrac
André Méravilles

L’Aubrac se caractérise par ses paysages multiples : grandes prairies, forêts, plateau et versants escarpés. Cette richesse se retrouve également au niveau de la flore, avec des variétés spécifiques à chaque milieu.

Certains écosystèmes moins connus sont présents sur l’Aubrac et accueillent de nombreuses plantes, toutes plus spectaculaires les unes que les autres. Les plus rares sont la Fritillaire pintade, la Pulsatille rouge, ou bien la Pédiculaire feuillée. C’est en rentrant au cœur des hêtraies et chênaies, que l’on peut observer le fameux thé d’Aubrac, dont la cueillette est réglementée. Les sols calcaires du versant sud de l’Aubrac proposent une autre famille de fleurs, avec de nombreuses orchidées.

à chaque saison, ses couleurs et ses parfums

Chaque saison peint un nouveau tableau grâce à cette multitude de plantes. Couleurs, parfums, ambiances varient chaque jour.

Lorsque les jours commencent à rallonger, dès février-mars, les sous-bois se couvrent des fleurs blanches ou pourpres de l’Oxalis petite-oseille et du Corydale solide, parmi lesquelles peuvent fleurir quelques Anémones fausse renoncule. Le plateau se teinte de violine grâce aux Pensées sauvages.
Au printemps, dès les mois d’avril-mai, les prairies changent de couleur et jaunissent avec les Jonquilles. Arriveront ensuite les Narcisses des poètes dont les fleurs sont cueillies avec grand soin pour la parfumerie.

Au cœur de l’été fleurissent les grandes plantes des prairies et des ruisseaux : l’Aconit de Nappel et la Reine des Prés sont les plus connues. Notons également la remarquable Ligulaire de Sibérie. Cette plante vivace se trouve dans les tourbières et les marécages situés en altitude. Elle date de l’époque glaciaire. Cette espèce est très rare sur l’Aubrac et en France : sa cueillette est interdite. Toujours lors des chaudes journées d’été, d’autres espèces se développent discrètement dans les tourbières. Elles sont extrêmement délicates et doivent être sauvegardées, comme la Droséra à feuille ronde ou la Canneberge Commune.

La récolte des narcisses

L’Aubrac se transforme en paradis blanc dès le printemps, avec un merveilleux tapis de fleurs blanches : les Narcisses des Poètes. Vous pourrez peut-être apercevoir des agriculteurs avec un outil pouvant ressembler à une large fourchette pour effectuer leur récolte. Son odeur est enivrante, mais le narcisse reste une fleur très délicate. À peine la récolte terminée, c’est pour la distillerie de Peyre-en-Aubrac que partent ces arômes. L’extrait est utilisé par les plus grands parfumeurs.

Pierre Soissons

Les narcisses des poètes

La récolte de cette fleur nécessite un savoir-faire particulier, tout en délicatesse.

Le thé d’Aubrac

Le Thé d’Aubrac (ou Calament à grandes fleurs) est une plante qui pousse dans les sous-bois clairs de hêtres, à une altitude minimum de 1 000 mètres. Le Thé d’Aubrac est une petite plante discrète, dont la fragrance est sécrétée dès que la plante est frôlée. Elle est utilisée en infusion. Elle possède des propriétés apaisantes et elle aide aussi à faciliter la digestion.

La récolte doit être réalisée exclusivement à la main. Les feuilles sont enlevées des tiges, pour pouvoir travailler la plante une fois séchée. Les producteurs locaux proposent des produits dérivés comme des sirops, des infusions, des sablés, du savon, des cosmétiques ou même des glaces.

Thé d'Aubrac

La flore sur l’ensemble du nord Aveyron

À l’ouest du plateau de l’Aubrac, le reste du territoire propose une tout autre composition paysagère. Cette différence est marquée par de grands arbres. On y trouve des chênes, des hêtres, des tilleuls. Les versants sont peuplés de fougères, de landes et de bruyères. Les paysages sont ouverts, constitués de prairies naturelles et de parcelles. Les haies vives clôturent ces parcelles et les paysages se dessinent comme des mosaïques de forêts entremêlées de pâturages.

Champ de fleurs

Pour en savoir plus sur la flore :

Pour en connaître d’avantage sur la flore du territoire, n’hésitez pas à contacter nos professionnels qui proposent sorties et animations pour tout savoir sur ce patrimoine naturel riche.

Quand admirer la floraison ?

Pour vous aider à vous y retrouver parmi toutes ces plantes, leurs dates de floraison, leurs particularités, voici un tableau récapitulatif. Vous pourrez ainsi organiser votre séjour en fonction des couleurs que vous voulez voir fleurir sur le plateau.

Type de fleurFloraisonParticularité et dérivé
Anémone fausse renonculeD’avril à maiFleurs jaunes solitaires.
ArnicaDe mars à juinVertus médicinales contre les hématomes.
CalamentDe juin à aoûtLes feuilles séchées sont utilisées en tisane digestive.
CampanuleEn juillet et aoûtPetites clochettes bleues ou violettes s’ouvrant en cinq lobes.
Crocus de printempsDe février à maiFleurs solitaires blanches.
Digitale pourpreDe mai à juilletFleurs en doigt de gant ou clochettes, mesurant 3 à 6 centimètres de long, pendent en longue grappe d’un seul côté de la tige.
DroseraDe juin à septembrePlante carnivore se trouvant dans les tourbières d’altitude.
Fritillaire PintadeDe mai à début juinGrosses cloches pourprées.
Genêt à balaisAu printempsUtilisé pour fabriquer des balais.
Gentiane jauneDe mai à octobreLes racines se prélèvent pour la fabrication d’alcool. Les racines de printemps sont plus amères que les racines d’automne, plus sucrées.
Gentiane pneumonantheDe juin à octobrePlante médicinale d’un bleu vif.
Jonquille (Narcisse)De février à maiSimples, doubles, en trompette, en couronne, en étoile… Certains narcisses jaunes sont communément appelés « jonquilles ».
Ligulaire de SibérieDe juillet à septembreFleurs en grappes jaunes, grande plante.
Narcisse des poètesArrive de suite après les jonquilles, vers mi-mai jusqu’à début juinFleurs utilisées pour la production d’arômes et de parfum pour les parfumeurs du monde entier.
OrchidéesAu printemps La floraison varie d’une année sur l’autre en fonction de la luminosité.
Oxalis Petite OseilleDu printemps au début de l’étéPetites fleurs solitaires blanches.
Pulsatille rougeDe mai à juilletFleur toxique par ingestion pour l’animal et l’homme.
RaiponceDe mai à juilletFleur bleue à la tête globuleuse.
Reine des présAu printemps et à l’étéOdeur vanillée.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu